top of page


Port Macquarie Hastings Heritage

Mitch McKay, Port Macquarie Hastings Heritage

Port Macquarie Hastings Heritage is a unique heritage consultancy practice dedicated to preserving our history in a manner that ensures that it will be accessible for future generations. 

Mitch McKay, Principal

Port Macquarie Hastings Heritage

Port Macquarie Hastings Heritage (PMH Heritage) is a multi-award-winning heritage practice based on the NSW mid north coast that provides:

  • a heritage consultancy service to a wide range of stakeholders including individuals, professionals and communities, and

  • a heritage advisory service to local government.

As principal of Port Macquarie Hastings Heritage, Mitch McKay lives and breathes history and has a deep understanding of it. Over the past 30 years, he has been actively unearthing, identifying, conserving, protecting, managing and explaining history while guiding many people to work with and appreciate it.

Prior to establishing his award-winning practice in 2009, Mitch worked in local government in both planning and cultural and community services. It was there that he worked on a broad range of planning and urban design projects before specialising in heritage. Some heritage projects included conservation, archaeological excavations, interpretation, historical research and the preparation of heritage and archaeological guidelines.

In addition to the heritage consultancy and heritage advisory services, Mitch is devoted to sharing his vast depth of knowledge with the public. He conducts highly acclaimed archaeology and history walking tours within the former convict settlement of Port Macquarie, where the practice is based. These tours ‘bring history to life’ and make the practice unique in the profession of heritage consultancy in Australia.


Historic Houses Association of Australia

International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS)

Interpretation Australia Association

National Trust of Australia (NSW)

Heritage Advisor

Armidale Regional Council

Inverell Shire Council

Kempsey Shire Council

Uralla Shire Council

bottom of page